Central Bank Of Malta

Central Bank of Malta, Pjazza Kastilja, Valletta, VLT 1060, Malta

+356 2550 0000

+356 2550 0000



The Central Bank of Malta was established by the Central Bank of Malta Act on 17 April 1968. On 1 May 2004 the Bank joined the European System of Central Banks (ESCB) and on 1 January 2008 it became part of the Eurosystem. The main objective of the Eurosystem and the Central Bank of Malta is to maintain price stability. In order to meet this objective, the Central Bank of Malta participates in the preparation and decision-making process of the Eurosystem’s monetary policy.

The role of central banks in national economies has evolved over time to embrace two key areas of responsibility: the formulation and implementation of monetary policy and the promotion of a sound and efficient financial system. Unlike older central banks, the Central Bank of Malta did not acquire its responsibilities in a gradual evolutionary process, but was specifically established by law to carry out these functions.

The Central Bank of Malta is an independent institution which seeks to carry out its statutory responsibilities in the public interest. As a member of the Eurosystem, the Bank's primary objective is to maintain price stability, thereby contributing to sustainable economic development.

The Central Bank of Malta Act, Cap 204, mainly sets the governance and accountability framework of the Bank since it provides for the establishment of the Board of Directors and the Audit Committee. However, in addition to the decision-making bodies, the corporate governance of the Bank encompasses a number of other internal and external control layers.